Friday, August 04, 2017

Courtwood 1-11

The Rock 0-12

COURTWOOD had to survive a late rally from The Rock to ensure they took their place in the winners’ ground in the second round of the IFC. In Annanough on Friday evening, Courtwood held a six point adavnatge going into the final quarter but by the final whistle had just two points to spare. The introductions of Fionn Kirwan and Stephen McDonald early in the second half certainly upped The Rock’s challenge but thery will regret the number of wides kicked over the hour. The Rock played with the breeze in the opening half and began with Thomas McDonald and Aaron Dowling giving them the early lead.Courtwood responded with a point from Alan Kinsella and then scored the game’s only goal in the sixth minute. Niall Donoher cut through on goal and slipped thee ball to the in-running Matt Kelly who palmed the ball to the net.Brian Hogan, Kelly and Donoher added points to move Courtwood four clear.  They might have had a second goal but Conor Allen pulled off a fine save to deny Matt Kelly.At the other The Rock might have had a goal but Kieran Carroll’s shot crashed off the outside of the post.Aaron Dowling kicked three more frees before the break for The Rock but Rory Doyle and Matt Kelly points had Courtwood leading 1-6 to 0-5 at half time.Kieran Carroll cut the deficit to three points straight from the throw in but Courtwood stretched three clear by the 40th minute thanks to Kinsella, Donoher and Kelly.Danny McRedmond and Matt Kelly swapped points to leave Courtwood leading 1-10 to 0-7 entering the final quarter.Tommy McDonald and Shane O’Connell points sandwiched a Matt Kelly point for Courtwood which would prove to be their last in the 50th minute.Aaron Dowling, Shane O’Connell and Stephen McDonald all pointed for The Rock in the time that remained but the goal that they so desperately needed never came.Courtwood now face Rosenallis in the winners’ group in round two while The Rock take on Barrowhouse.
COURTWOOD: Eoin O’Neill; Conor Hogan, Andrew Mulhare, Matt Malone; Mark O’Halloran, Rob Flynn, Colm Wilson; Paddy Wilson, David O’Connell; Brian Hogan (0-1), Niall Donoher (0-2), Tom O’Connell; Alan Kinsella (0-2, 0-1f), Matt Kelly (1-4, 0-3f), Rory Doyle (0-1). Subs: Liam Duffy for T. O’Connell (52m), Luke Doyle for B. Hogan (55m)
THE ROCK: Conor Allen; Paul Allen, Brendan Murphy, Conor Flynn; Anavil Storey, Kieran Conroy, Kieran Carroll (0-1); Phillip Peake, Diarmuid Dooley; Brian Conlon, Shane O’Connell (0-2), Daniel McRedmond (0-1); Stephen Conlon, Thomas McDonald (0-2), Aaron Dowling (0-5, 0-3f). Subs: Johnny Allen for Conroy (h/t), Fionn Kirwan for Dooley (38m), Stephen McDonald (0-1) for McRedmond (40m), Kieran Conroy for Conlon (55m)
Referee: Pat Moran (Graiguecullen)

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 57 86 70216

More Laois Sport