Thursday, May 09, 2019

All-Ireland Master Football Championship Rd 1

Hat-trick hero Greg Ramsbottom plays this ball to Noel Garvin during the All-Ireland Masters meeting with Dublin in Stradbally on Saturday Photo: Denis Byrne

Dublin 3-11
Laois 3-7

LAOIS Masters football team put in a battling performance when they took on reigning All-Ireland champions, Dublin in Stradbally on Saturday afternoon. Despite Greg Ramsbottom blazing a trail with three goals, Laois fell short by just four points.
Dublin were quick off the mark racing into a three point lead in the opening ten minutes, Ciaran McGuinness and Niall Crossan on target. Brian McEvoy opened Laois’s account shortly after
But things went pear-shaped for Laois in a five minutre period when Dublin struck for two goals Crossan and McGuinness to put nine points bwteen the sides.
Laois got back got back into the game in the second quarter with Stradbally’s Greg Ramsbottom hitting two goals in qiuck succession, one off of either foot. This was followed a fabulous outside of the boot point from Colam ‘Wooly’ Parkinson.
Dublin reatained the composure and were rewqarded when McGuinness scored his second goal. Points from Ray Cosgrove and Ken Darcy added to their advantage going into the break leading by eight points.
Laois looked far more impressive in the sceond half. Parkinson started the revivalk followed by a point from Rory O’Connell. Greg Ramsbottom then completed his hat-trick after being fouled in the square and converting the resultant spot kick.
Ramsbtoom then added a point as Laois closed the gap to just two points. Niall Crossan and Chris Conway traded points before Dublin began to pull away again.
Two points from Ray Cosgrove, a 45 and a free from 50 metres, along with another Crossan free gave Dublin the edge as the game enetered its final stage.
With just four ponts in it, Larry Keenan was desperately unlucky not to find the Dublin net when his flick forced a full-length save from John Murphy. Kevin Fitzpatrick rounded off the scoring as Dublin held out for the win.
Laois next travel to Westmeath in two weeks time.

DUBLIN: John Murphy; Mick Coyne, Peadar Andrews, Felim Condron; Ian Clarke, Peter Finn, Gary O’Connell; James O’Connor, Ross Hainsworth; Cormac Smith, Ken Darcy, Craig Kilmurray; Ciarán McGuiness, Ray Cosgrove, Niall Crossan.
Subs: Noel Peacock, Bennie Gaughan, David Spratt, Damian Flanagan, Joe Morris, Ciarán Doyle, Paul Croft, Trevor Tansey, Ritchie Herritty, Joey O’Rourke, Justin McGrane

LAOIS: Dan Nelligan; Dessie Brennan, Eamonn Delaney, PJ Rohan; Brian McEvoy (0-1), David Sweeney, Darren Finlay; Noel Garvan, John Kealy; Colm Parkinson (0-2), Kevin Fitzpatrick (0-1), Rory O’Connell; Derek O’Connell (0-1), Mark Rooney, Greg Ramsbottom (3-1).
Subs: Mick Lawlor, Chris Conway (0-1), John Molloy, Roghan Headen , Colin Miller, Mick O’Brien, Larry Keenan, Denis Brennan, Liam O’Connor, Shane Cook, Manus Dunne

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 57 86 70216

More Laois Sport

Nicole is still making the headlines

Clonaslee coast to intermediate final

Chris ensures The Heath’s senior survival