Wednesday, March 04, 2020

2020 Hurling Championship Draws

By Denis J. Croke

THIS year’s senior hurling championship will be played with same format as 2019 with the top team in each group advancing to the semi-finals with second and third placed going into the quarter-finals. The bottom team in each group will play off to see which will be relegated.
This year there is no Senior ‘A’ championship in so far as this grade has been renamed the Premier Intermediate championship and will follow the same format as the senior championship.
The draw for the senior championship was seeded ensuring last year’s finalists, Rathdowney/Errill and Borris/Kilcotton were kept apart, as were the two beaten semi-finalist from last year.
In Group A Rathdowney/Errill will be joined by Clough/Ballacolla, St Lazarian’s Abbeyleix and Castletown.
Group B brings together last year’s beaten finalists Borris/Kilcotton, 2017 and 2018 champions Camross, newly promoted Rosenallis and Ballinakill.
In the Premier Intermediate championship relegated Portlaoise have been grouped with Ballyfin, Slieve Bloom and Laois’s newest club Colt/Shanahoe.
The other group sees The Harps, beaten finalists in the last two years matched with Clonaslee/St Manman’s, Mountrath and Camross.
There is a change to this year’s Intermediate and Junior hurling championships which will be also played on a group format. The top two teams in each group will go into the semi-finals while the bottom two will contest relegation semi finals.


Laois Shopping Centre SHC
Group A – Rathdowney/Errill; Clough/Ballacolla; St Lazarian’s Abbeyleix; Castletown
Group B – Borris/Kilcotton; Camross; Rosenallis; Ballinakill
Laois Shopping Centre Premier IHC
Group A – Portlaoise; Ballyfin; Colt/Shanahoe; Slieve Bloom
Group B – The Harps; Camross; Clonaslee/St Manman’s; Mountrath
Laois Shopping Centre IHC
Group A – Borris/Kilcotton; Park/Ratheniska-Timahoe; Clough/Ballacolla; Mountmellick
Group B – Ballypickas; Trumera; Rathdowney/Errill; Clonad
Laois Shopping Centre JHC ‘A’
Group A – Rathdowney/Errill; St Lazarian’s Abbeyleix; Colt/Shanahoe; The Harps
Group B – Castletown; Borris/Kilcotton; Portlaoise; Mountrath
Laois Shopping Centre JHC ‘B’
Group A -The Harps; Park/Ratheniska-Timahoe; Kyle; Camross
Group B – Portlaoise; Mountmellick; Ballinakill; Rathdowney/Errill
Laois Shopping Centre JHC ‘C’
Round 1 – Castletown v Camross; Ballyfin v Colt/Shanahoe; Trumera v Clough/Ballacolla; Clonaslee v Abbeyleix
Quarter-final – Castletown or Camross v Borris/Kilcotton; Ballyfin or Colt/Shanahoe v Rosenallis; Trumera or Clough/Ballacolla v Clonad; Clonaslee or Abbeyleix v Ballypickas
Laois Shopping Centre U/20 HC
Group A – Castletown; Borris/Kilcotton; Portlaoise; Camross
Group B – St Lazarian’s Abbeyleix; The Harps; Raheen Parish Gaels
Group C – Rosenallis; Clough/Ballacolla/Mountrath; Na Fianna
Group D – Rathdowney/Errill; Ballinakill/Ballypickas; Park/Ratheniska-Timahoe

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 57 86 70216

More Laois Sport