Wednesday, January 19, 2022

By PA Sport Staff

Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has named uncapped duo Mack Hansen and Michael Lowry in his 37-man squad for the 2022 Guinness Six Nations.

Connacht wing Mack Hansen has been in red-hot form in the United Rugby Championship, while versatile back Lowry has impressed for Ulster.

Munster fly-half Joey Carbery has been included, despite recently being sidelined by a fractured elbow, while Ulster lock Kieran Treadwell, who won three caps in 2017, has been recalled.

Leinster wing James Lowe is a surprise omission.

Leinster duo Harry Byrne and Ciaran Frawley, Munster wing Simon Zebo and Ulster centre Stuart McCloskey have also been dropped from Farrell’s initial autumn squad.

Ireland begin the championship on Saturday, February 5th when defending champions Wales visit the Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

Veteran fly-half Johnny Sexton will captain his country for the third successive championship after overcoming ankle and knee issues suffered in November.

Head coach Farrell said: “In November we challenged the group to get up to speed quickly so that the team could perform at international level.

“It will be an exciting championship with so many strong squads and impressive performances across the board during the autumn.”

Ireland Six Nations Squad

Backs (17)
Bundee Aki (Connacht) 33 caps
Robert Baloucoune (Ulster) 2 caps
Joey Carbery (Munster) 27 caps
Jack Carty (Buccaneers) 10 caps
Craig Casey (Munster 4 caps
Andrew Conway (Munster) 27 caps
Keith Earls (Munster) 96 caps
Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 12 caps
Mack Hansen (Connacht) uncapped
Robbie Henshaw (Leinster) 53 caps
James Hume (Ulster) 1 cap
Hugo Keenan (Leinster) 16 caps
Jordan Larmour (Leinster) 30 caps
Michael Lowry (Ulster) uncapped
Conor Murray (Munster) 92 caps
Garry Ringrose (Leinster) 37 caps
Johnny Sexton (Leinster, capt) 101 caps

Forwards (20)
Ryan Baird (Leinster) 6 caps
Finlay Bealham (Connacht) 18 caps
Tadhg Beirne (Munster) 25 caps
Jack Conan (Leinster) 22 caps
Gavin Coombes (Munster) 2 caps
Caelan Doris (Leinster) 12 caps
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster) 52 caps
Cian Healy (Leinster) 112 caps
Iain Henderson (Ulster) 65 caps
Rob Herring (Ulster) 23 caps
Rónan Kelleher (Leinster) 16 caps
Dave Kilcoyne (Munster) 45 caps
Peter O’Mahony (Munster) 79 caps
Tom O’Toole (Ulster) 2 caps
Andrew Porter (Leinster) 40 caps
James Ryan (Leinster) 40 caps
Dan Sheehan (Leinster) 2 caps
Nick Timoney (Ulster) 2 caps
Kieran Treadwell (Ulster) 3 caps
Josh van der Flier (Leinster) 35 caps

Development Player
Cian Prendergast (Connacht)

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 57 86 70216

More National Sport